New York State Roads - Metropolitian Planning Organizations

New York is divided into several Metropolitian Planning Organizations (MPOs). Under federal law, urban areas with a population greater than 50,000 are required to have a MPO to coordinate regional land use and transportation planning and to allocate federal money for transportation projects. Currently, there are 14 MPOs in New York State. The MPOs coordinate activities through the New York State Association of Metropolitan Planning Organizations (which has an approximate map of MPO boundaries on their website).

Adirondack/Glens Falls Transportation Council
Covers the Glens Falls area including Warren and Washington Counties as well as the Town of Moreau in Saratoga County
Binghamton Metropolitan Transportation Study
Covers the Binghamton area including the City of Binghamton and the Towns of Binghamton, Chenango, Conklin, Fenton, Kirkwood, Maine, Union, Vestal, and Windsor in Broome County and the Towns of Candor, Nichols, Owego, and Tioga in Tioga County (and also the Towns of Great Bend and New Milford in Susquehanna County, Pennsylvania)
Capital Region Transportation Council
Covers the Albany/Saratoga Springs/Schenectady/Troy area including Albany, Rensselaer, Saratoga (except the Town of Moreau), and Schenectady Counties
Elmira-Chemung Transportation Council
Covers the Elmira area including Chemung County
Genesee Transportation Council
Covers the Rochester area including Genesee County, Livingston County, Monroe County, Ontario County, Orleans County, Seneca County, Wayne County, Wyoming County, and Yates County; the main planning focus area includes all of Monroe County as well as the Towns of Avon, Caledonia, and Lima in Livingston County; the City of Canandaigua and the Towns of Canandaigua, East Bloomfield, Farmington, Gorham, Hopewell, Manchester, Victor, and West Bloomfield in Ontario County; and the Towns of Macedon, Marion, Ontario, Palmyra, Walworth, and Williamson in Wayne County
Greater Buffalo-Niagara Regional Transportation Council
Covers the Buffalo/Niagara Falls area including Erie and Niagara Counties
Herkimer-Oneida Counties Transportation Council
Covers the Utica/Rome area including Herkimer and Oneida Counties
Ithaca-Tompkins County Transportation Council
Covers the Ithaca area including Tompkins County
New York Metropolitan Transportation Council
Covers the New York City area including Bronx, Kings, Nassau, New York, Putnam, Richmond, Rockland, Queens, Suffolk, and Westchester Counties
Orange County Transportation Council
Covers the Newburgh area including Orange County
Poughkeepsie-Dutchess County Transportation Council
Covers the Poughkeepsie area including Dutchess County
Syracuse Metropolitan Transportation Council
Covers the Syracuse area including Onondaga County as well as the Town of Sullivan in Madison County and the Towns of Hastings, Schroeppel, and West Monroe in Oswego County
Ulster County Transportation Council
Covers the Kingston area including Ulster County
Watertown-Jefferson County Area Transportation Council
Covers the Watertown area and the surrounding Urban Area Boundary